Dynamic Legend to resolve ring chart sizing issues.

A discussion forum for JFreeChart (a 2D chart library for the Java platform).
twister
antibot: No, of course not.

Dynamic Legend to resolve ring chart sizing issues.

Post by twister » Tue Jul 24, 2012 4:49 pm

Hi Kind Helper,

Firstly, I am new to JFree charts, my previous reporting experience is using Jasper Reports for all my needs, but now I am walking into new area (using iText for reporting) due to strict requirements from client and also its great to master new libraries. My question is as follows:

Initial requirement: I needed to create ring pie charts to illustrate my database results after a certain operation. Everything was well (samples worked) until i tried it out with actual data base results.
1.) I noticed that ring pie chart decreases in size when there are considerably larger number of items(labels) in the Legend. Basically Chart Size is inversely proportional to the size/number of items in the legend.
2.) Shifted the Legend to the right, increased the canvas width. A litter better but still very noticeable when compared to other ring pie charts.

After going through this forum and few other resources online, it seems that JFree Chart renders the legend first and then later the graphical chart. Considering this, my question is as follows:

a) Are there any "set" methods that i would define a fixed size (width and height) for the pie chart, regardless of size/number of items(labels) in the legend.
b) What i was thinking - since I am aware of the dataset, I can find out the maximum number of items that would be occupied in a particular chart's legend. Therefore, is there way to dynamically and explicitly set the the legend size of the pie chart, hence then all the ring pie chart generated should theoretically speaking be of the same size regardless of the number of items in the legend.