How to identify elements in a Scatter Plot

A discussion forum for JFreeChart (a 2D chart library for the Java platform).
elindauer
antibot: No, of course not.

How to identify elements in a Scatter Plot

Post by elindauer » Tue Sep 18, 2012 12:16 am

Hi!

Newbie here. I've created a ScatterPlot using a subclass of AbstractXYDataset. My chart is dynamic, and I am constantly adding and removing points in the graph.

I'm trying to write a method that is capable of taking an x,y point (as from a mouseMoved or mouseClicked event) and translate that into the nearest point in the graph. Is there a way to identify the x,y coordinates of the points in the graph? Any hints on making this thread-safe given that I am frequently removing data in another thread would be appreciated.

Thanks!

Eric

remiohead

Re: How to identify elements in a Scatter Plot

Post by remiohead » Tue Sep 18, 2012 12:48 pm

The methods java2DToValue() and valueToJava2D() in NumberAxis will translate the x,y values. So long as you update the charts and handle the mouse stuff on the EDT you won't have any threading issues.

elindauer

Post by elindauer » Tue Sep 18, 2012 4:02 pm

Thanks! Updating the chart on the EDT is a key point that I was missing. I'll give this a try and report back results!

elindauer

Post by elindauer » Tue Sep 18, 2012 5:36 pm

The documentation of java2DToValue is a bit confusing:

Code: Select all

public double java2DToValue(double java2DValue,
                   java.awt.geom.Rectangle2D area,
                   org.jfree.ui.RectangleEdge edge)
Converts a coordinate in Java2D space to the corresponding data value, assuming that the axis runs along one edge of the specified dataArea.
I can't figure out what this means. If I have a mouseMoved event with an (x,y), what arguments should I use for the "area" and "edge"? What do these arguments represent?

david.gilbert
JFreeChart Project Leader

Post by david.gilbert » Tue Sep 18, 2012 8:27 pm