Encode as GIF

A discussion forum for JFreeChart (a 2D chart library for the Java platform).
Ooschn

Encode as GIF

Post by Ooschn » Wed May 26, 2004 7:04 am

Hey folks,
first and foremost: JFreeChart is a great piece of work! Really a nice tool!

I have found several postings regarding the encoding in the GIF format, but they don't really help me so far (I'm still a newbie :shock:).
The Problem is: JPEG just offers inadequate quality and PNG doesn't work on all used Browsers as it seems. (all my stuff is done in a Servlet)

I've read about the Acme-Encoder, Buffered Image and ChartUtilities, but I just can't put all these pieces together.
Can I have a sample code, please?! Just don't know how to get started.

jpverdu

Sample code

Post by jpverdu » Wed May 26, 2004 1:11 pm

Here is the code I can propose to you, it works fine on Windows
It uses GifEncoder from Acme

JFreeChart chart = ChartFactory.createPieChart("MyPie", data, true,false,false);

BufferedImage bi = chart.createBufferedImage(200,200,BufferedImage.TYPE_BYTE_INDEXED, null);

try
{
// encode the image as a GIF
OutputStream output = new BufferedOutputStream( new FileOutputStream("toto.gif"));
GifEncoder encode = new GifEncoder(bi,output,true);
encode.encode();

}
catch(IOException ioe)
{
System.out.println(ioe);
}

Excuse for my english

iogan18tm

ChartUtilities

Post by iogan18tm » Wed May 26, 2004 1:32 pm

In fact, to extend ChartUtilities with new encoding U can (and the simpliest way it is) copy such methods like writeChartAsPng, saveChartAsPNG,writeBufferedImageAsPNG (and somehow writeImageMap).

Although,first 3 of them are simple interfaces to encoding, the last one does the work. So there must be a code to do GIF output. I've tried some GIFEncoders, but everywhere was stuck on too large colormap. (Acme and a couple of others). Dont know how to overcome.

Re: Encode as GIF

Post by Guest » Wed May 26, 2004 5:38 pm