Drawing Fibonacci lines on a OHLC chart

Discussion about JFreeChart related to stockmarket charts.
gmsc

Drawing Fibonacci lines on a OHLC chart

Post by gmsc » Fri Jul 07, 2006 5:00 pm

Hi all,

I am attempting to create a chart that offers the ability to to draw fibonacci lines from user selected points on a OHLC chart. Has anyone done this or knows how to do this? I am quite new to Java any help with coding examples or any tips would be welcome.

Thanks in advance!

LP302

Drawing Fibonacci Lines

Post by LP302 » Fri Jan 26, 2007 7:09 pm

Hi.

I hope I am doing this right as this is my first time on this system.

I am very interested in your work on creating a program to allow users to draw their own Finonacci lines on a chart. Unfortunately I do not know how to help you program this.

I can tell you what I would be most interested in. I would like to be able to determine the high and low points through which the lines will be drawn, and I would like to be able to choose from the high/low for a single day or the high/low for any number of days I choose. I would also like to be able to draw lines from any high or low close.

Probably the most unusual aspect of what I would like to see is the ability to input my own Fibonacci numbers, which may be different from the standary Fibonacci numbers.

As you progress on your system I would be most interested in learning of your progress. GOOD LUCK!

--LP302

develop

Post by develop » Fri Jan 26, 2007 10:40 pm

what lines are you trying to draw. fibbonacci fan lines or retracements.

you can annotations in jfreechart to draw lines, which i have done already.

hope this helps

williamt

Post by williamt » Fri Mar 16, 2007 5:50 pm

Hi,
I did the same thing you want to do, and I did this:
Created a mouseListener class that extended MouseAdapter class, and implemented MouseMotionListener interface.