IntervalMarker "behind" XYItemRenderer

A discussion forum for JFreeChart (a 2D chart library for the Java platform).
Locked
Reinhard
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri May 26, 2006 1:27 pm

IntervalMarker "behind" XYItemRenderer

Post by Reinhard » Mon Aug 21, 2006 3:59 pm

Hello JFreeChart Community,

JFreeChart made it possible, to create such a nice chart:

w w w . brandl-eitensheim . de /temp/Screenshot.jpg

(Please remove the blanks in the links. I was not allowed to post a complete link. Sorry!)

The transparency was realised via:

Code: Select all

subplotOben.setForegroundAlpha(0.5f); 

Now I have to export the graph to eps. I use org.jibble.epsgraphics.EpsGraphics2D. Actually, it was not possible to export the transparency effect to eps. Thanks to David.

The second best solution is to have the series graphs in front of the IntervalMarker. setForegroundAlpha() doesn't work with eps. However, I do not arrive to change the order. In the eps the series are always behind the Marker and not visible.

w w w . brandl-eitensheim . de/temp/epsScreenshot.jpg

Can you help me?

Thank you very very much!

Reinhard

skunk
Posts: 1087
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2005 10:14 pm
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Post by skunk » Mon Aug 21, 2006 5:01 pm

Did you try calling the versions of addXXXMarker that let you specify the layer?

Code: Select all

public void addDomainMarker(Marker marker, org.jfree.ui.Layer layer)
public void addRangeMarker(Marker marker, org.jfree.ui.Layer layer)
You can specify either FOREGROUND (default) or BACKGROUND for layer

Reinhard
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri May 26, 2006 1:27 pm

Post by Reinhard » Mon Aug 21, 2006 7:03 pm

Thank you :-)

In Germany we say in such a case: "not to see the wood for the trees" :wink:

I added this and it worked:

Code: Select all

subplotOben.addDomainMarker(markierung, org.jfree.ui.Layer.BACKGROUND);
However, a slight problem remains: The gridlines are still behind the marker. Is there a possibility to position them between the data series and the Marker?

THX

Reinhard[/code]

Reinhard
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri May 26, 2006 1:27 pm

Post by Reinhard » Tue Aug 22, 2006 4:47 pm

I am going to oben a new thread for the gridline issue, as it seems to be another problem.

Locked