Zooming on Logarithmic Axis

A discussion forum for JFreeChart (a 2D chart library for the Java platform).
Locked
t_huankiat
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 9:29 pm
Location: Chicago, IL
Contact:

Zooming on Logarithmic Axis

Post by t_huankiat » Sat Aug 26, 2006 12:08 am

Hi guys,
I just started to try out jfreechart few days ago. I realized how much time it would have saved me on drawing chart had I come across this great api earlier!

I have a newbie question. For the past few days I have been playing around with plotting time-series chart. I noticed that if the range axis is set to use logarithmic axis, the zoom-in function doesn't really reflect the area I selected. It seems like I have to select the area when the line is plot under normal range axis in order to show the desired zoomed area.

But the zoom shows the correct area when I just use normal range axis for the same dataset.

I have only created a really basic log axis:

Code: Select all

LogarithmicAxis logAxis = new LogarithmicAxis("");
logAxis.setStrictValuesFlag(false);
xyplot.setRangeAxis(logAxis);
Am I missing any setting? :shock:

Thanks!

Rachel M
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2005 8:06 pm

Post by Rachel M » Mon Aug 28, 2006 3:33 pm

search for:
autoadjustrange logarithmicaxis

there's a post started by nclemeur

t_huankiat
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 9:29 pm
Location: Chicago, IL
Contact:

Post by t_huankiat » Mon Aug 28, 2006 4:05 pm

Hi Rachel,
Thanks for the help! I found it! I guess I have to refine the way I do the search before I made yet another redundant post :roll:

In case anyone else looking for the solution:
forum post by nclemeur:
search on: autoadjustrange logarithmicaxis nclemeur
and it's the 22nd post on the search

The patch: [ 880597 ] Zooming ChartPanel w/Logarithmic Axes

*I'm new user, seems like I don't have the right to post URL...


Off topic question:
That's the bug first discovered back in 2004, before 1.0 RC1 and has yet to be included into the package. I read the changes on the source code, the latest update on the class was back in April 2005. Is there a reason why the fix isn't included?

Locked