Time series gap

A discussion forum for JFreeChart (a 2D chart library for the Java platform).
Locked
lgarcia3
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2005 4:00 pm

Time series gap

Post by lgarcia3 » Mon Nov 12, 2007 8:21 pm

I am plotting 5-minute intraday stock data. I am using a TimeSeries like this

new TimeSeries("Close",Minute.class);

I use the Minute class (if not a good idea, please, let me know). When I display several days of data it shows up with a gap (actually a straight line) in between the minutes for which there is no data (from 4:00 pm until 8:00 am of the following day). Is there any way to remove that gap so it looks continuous? If I need to use a different data set, please, let me know.
Thanks!

skunk
Posts: 1087
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2005 10:14 pm
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Post by skunk » Mon Nov 12, 2007 11:08 pm

Code: Select all

org.jfree.chart.axis.SegmentedTimeline

stanp
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2007 2:56 am

Post by stanp » Thu Nov 15, 2007 3:00 am

lgarcia3 wrote:

Code: Select all

org.jfree.chart.axis.SegmentedTimeline
I believe that skunk is asking about having "holes" in a time series line graph (because of the mentioned line between the missing data points). If this is the case a SegmentedTimeline is not the answer.

Is there a way to allow for holes in a line graph?

Thanks.
Last edited by stanp on Thu Nov 15, 2007 3:45 am, edited 1 time in total.

RichardWest
Posts: 844
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 9:29 pm
Location: Sunnyvale, CA

Post by RichardWest » Thu Nov 15, 2007 3:23 am

stanp wrote:Is there a way to allow for holes in a line graph?
Add a null to the dataset between the two points you don't want connected.
Richard West
Design Engineer II
Advanced Micro Devices
Sunnyvale, CA

stanp
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2007 2:56 am

Post by stanp » Thu Nov 15, 2007 5:07 pm

RichardWest wrote:
stanp wrote:Is there a way to allow for holes in a line graph?
Add a null to the dataset between the two points you don't want connected.
That's too simple :D . Thank you.

Locked