NumberTickUnit and Gridlines of Domain and Range

A discussion forum for JFreeChart (a 2D chart library for the Java platform).
getaceres
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2008 8:10 am

Post by getaceres » Wed Sep 24, 2008 9:53 am

As your patches need to be applied all at once, I would create only one diff file with all the changes.
To easen applying the patch:

1. Copy the source directory as another name (for example, patch).
2. Overwrite the original files in the patch directory (DateAxis.java, etc) with the patched ones. Note that you don't have to call them by a different name, it's better to overwrite the original files with the patched ones.

3. Apply diff from the distribution root to the patch and sources directories. For example:

Code: Select all

diff -NaurB source patch > MinorTicks.diff
That should make a diff with all the changed files at once, so it can be applied directly with patch -p0 < MinorTicks.diff over a plain jfreechart 1.0.10 distribution. Always use relative routes. Never use absolute paths unless there's a good reason for it.

I'm not sure about the options to use for the diff but I've found this options searching for "diff make patch" in google and then looking at the "man diff" command. If you are on windows, you can search "man diff" in google which should point you to an online man pages version.

paradoxoff
Posts: 1634
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 1:51 pm

Post by paradoxoff » Wed Sep 24, 2008 1:32 pm

Thanks for the hints.
Since I have several patches that need to be valid against the original JFreeChart source tree plus my own source tree that integrates all patches I have placed the patched source files together with their unchanged originals in separate subdirectories named after the patches.
What I will do from now on is the following:
1. Have a local source tree with all patches.
2. Have an original source tree w/o patches.
3. For each patch, create a subdir below jfreechart-1.0.xx named after the patch that contains the source files in their subdirs as for the source tree.

Then I just need to change the names of the original and local source trees depending on whether I want to run ant or diff.
I will give that a try this evening and upload an updated patch. Sorry, I have just started to become a developper.
Regards, Paradoxoff
Last edited by paradoxoff on Wed Sep 24, 2008 9:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

paradoxoff
Posts: 1634
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 1:51 pm

Post by paradoxoff » Wed Sep 24, 2008 9:01 pm

Done. Easier than I thought. With the new file structure I can check whether a source tree with edited files can be compiled, and even whether a source tree to which the patch has been applied can be compiled! Now everything seems to work. Anyone who applies the patches will get the lableVisible-flag in the Axis class as additional bonus.

BO
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 2:17 pm

Re: NumberTickUnit and Gridlines of Domain and Range

Post by BO » Wed Apr 01, 2009 2:39 pm

hello
no long to see...
I have juste downloaded new version 1.0.12 and tried this feature (eg minor tick)
It work well ...
thank a lot
best regards
BO

BO
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 2:17 pm

Re: NumberTickUnit and Gridlines of Domain and Range

Post by BO » Wed May 06, 2009 6:18 am

I have posted this question on another thread http://www.jfree.org/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=27885
please anwser with this link!
thanks


Hi everybody,
I have 2 problems now:

1. Dual Axis
Image

I have 2 dual Axis like the chart "Dual Axis Demo 2" above
Instead of gridline of 1st Axis "Price Per Unit", I want to show gridlines of 2nd Axis "Secondary" ?
Could & How I do it ?
>>> Idem question for MinorGridlines?


2. Multiple Axis
Image

I have 2 dual Axis like the chart "Multiple Axis Demo1" above
Instead of gridline of 1st Axis "Primary Range Axis", I want to show gridlines of Axis "Rang Axis 2" ?
Could & How I do it ?
>>> Idem question for MinorGridlines?

thanks a lot
best regards
BO

Locked